Friday, November 02, 2007

Super 14 squads announced (TV3)

The Hurricanes franchise partners - Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Taranaki provide the bulk of the 28-man squad named to play in next year's Super 14.
Coach Colin Cooper had no need to go to the draft, offering six players first time contracts.
New kids on the block include Magpies Hikawera Elliott, Zac Guildford and Michael Johnson - Willie Ripia and Scott Waldrom from the Naki and Wellington's Jacob Ellison and Jeremy Thrush.
The Chiefs have included 15 Waikato players in their squad for next year's Super 14 - including four World Cup All Blacks.
Sione Laukai, Brendon Leonard, Mils Muliaina and Sitiveni Sivivatu lead an experienced side, which also includes six draft players.
Otago first five Callum Bruce, Canterbury loose forward Hayden Hopgood, Tasman prop Ben May, Harbour flyer Viliame Waqasedudua and Wellington pair Tom Harding and Faifili Levave have all been called in.
Levave is the only player in the squad with no previous Super 14 experience.
The Highlanders have gone to the draft to boost their side for next season's Super 14 - bringing in eight players from outside the region.

Canterbury coach Robbie Deans has confirmed that he is available to coach the All Blacks. He also said that he would not be seeking the Wallabies coaching job.

Volatile Hawke's Bay prop Clint Newland's been brought in, despite missing most of the Air New Zealand Cup through suspension - beefing up the front row, after Carl Hayman and Anton Oliver's departure.
Also arriving through the draft are talented Counties mid-fielder Niva Ta'auso and Manawatu stand-outs Hayden Triggs and Johnny Leota.
And Hawke's Bay halfback Danny Lee's back in the Super 14 and will turn out for the Blues in next year's competition.

Press conference with Robbie Deans

Full Crusaders press conference

No comments: