Wednesday, October 29, 2008

The pick of the crop from Canterbury

**warning :
do not comment on this article
or click on the existing comment author**
The Press
Wednesday, 29 October 2008

A first Air New Zealand Cup title, six players making the All Blacks tour (if you count the on-stand-by Greg Somerville) and a coaching staff that may keep its jobs; all in all it has been a marvellous season for Canterbury.

So, in the spirit of achievement, The Press has picked the best performing or most notable players of the season.

Player of the Year Award - Wyatt Crockett
Scott Hamilton produced some magnificent form in his final season, while Mose Tuiali'i and Campbell Johnstone may have been contenders had they played the full campaign. But no-one contributed as much, as often as Crockett. Rarely matched let alone beaten at scrum time, his work around the paddock is starting to rival Somerville's.

Best Interview Award - Scott Hamilton
For his unprompted carve-up of Johnstone. Asked to provide a few quotes about his years flatting with the Biarritz-bound prop, Hamilton's stuff was pure gold.

Courage Under Fire Award - Rob Penney and John Haggart
Seemingly dead men walking after the round one loss to Manawatu, coaches Rob Penney and John Haggart were always a pleasure to deal with. Twelve unbeaten matches later, it appears the roles are theirs if they still want them.

Nothing Personal Award - Leon MacDonald
As people, Leon, we all feel for you. But as journalists we are obliged to pester you for interviews and have every right to ask others for information when you decline. We wish you all the best ... (really).

Keeping it Real Award - Tyson Keats
Blessed with more cheek than the patrons of Copacabana beach, the wee halfback's play won him plenty of admirers this season. But by continuing to do at least one day's graft a week for his plastering business because it kept him grounded Keats was the obvious recipient.

Most Improved Award - Colin Slade
Came on in leaps and bounds at first five-eighths. "Colin who?" may soon find he is "Colin Slade, Super 14 player."

Your Time Will Come Award - Tim Bateman, Michael Paterson and Isaac Ross
Not quite All Blacks yet, but good enough to be in the forseeable future.

Culture Club Award - The whole squad
A hideous word, culture is nevertheless the commodity every team wants. This Canterbury team has it in spades and it is what won them this year's title, in spite of an injury count that would have crippled anyone else.

Man of the Year Award - Scott Hamilton
Consistently good to deal with, faultless on the paddock. **Andrew Ellis** comes a close second.
**Of course, I'd have voted for Kid in the candy store!

1 comment:

goooooood girl said...

Very good......