Tuesday, December 02, 2008

All Blacks-France in same World Cup pool

The pools for the 2011 World Cup are:

Pool A: New Zealand, France, Tonga,
Americas 1, Asia 1

Pool B: Argentina, England, Scotland,
Europe1, Playoff winner

Pool C: Australia, Ireland, Italy,
Europe 2, Americas 2

Pool D: South Africa, Wales, Fiji,
Oceania 1, Africa 1

Following the RWC 2011 pool matches, the knockout rounds will follow the same structure as RWC 2003 and RWC 2007. The full structure is as follows:

Quarterfinal 1: Winner Pool B v Runner-up Pool A
Quarterfinal 2: Winner Pool C v Runner-up Pool D
Quarterfinal 3: Winner Pool A v Runner-up Pool B
Quarterfinal 4: Winner Pool D v Runner-up Pool C

Semifinal 1: Winner QF1 v Winner QF2
Semifinal 2: Winner QF3 v Winner QF4
Bronze Final: Loser SF1 v Loser SF2

By DUNCAN JOHNSTONE in London, Fairfax Media
Tuesday, 02 December 2008

No comments: