Wednesday, December 02, 2009

McCaw at helm for BaaBaas clash
Wednesday, December 02

Richie McCaw will captain the All Blacks when they run out against the Barbarians at Twickenham on Saturday.

New Zealand coach Graham Henry has rested a large number of his front line players, but decided to keep McCaw in charge for their final fling of the season.

Mils Muliaina, Dan Carter, Brad Thorn and Tony Woodcock are some of the notable absentees from the team named on Wednesday.

Cory Jane, Ben Smith and Zac Guildford make up a young and exciting back three while the Chiefs halfback pairing of Stephen Donald and Brendon Leonard are selected to run proceedings behind the scrum.

Luke McAlister, Rodney So'oialo, McCaw, Jason Eaton and Andrew Hore provide the experienced core of the side.

New Zealand:
15 Cory Jane, 14 Ben Smith, 13 Tamati Ellison, 12 Luke McAlister, 11 Zac Guildford,
10 Stephen Donald, 9 Brendon Leonard,
8 Rodney So’oialo, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Liam Messam, 5 Anthony Boric, 4 Jason Eaton, 3 John Afoa, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
Reserves - 16 Andrew Hore, 17 Neemia Tialata, 18 Adam Thomson, 19 Tanerau Latimer, 20 Jimmy Cowan, 21 Mike Delany, 22 Sitiveni Sivivatu.

No comments: