Wednesday, November 10, 2010

2011 Investec Super Rugby Squads unveiled - (10/11/2010)

New Zealand's five Super Rugby franchises were unveiled at the official naming of the 2011 Investec Super Rugby Squads - the Blues, Chiefs, Hurricanes, Crusaders and Highlanders - in Auckland today.

New Zealand Rugby Union General Manager of Professional Rugby Neil Sorensen welcomed the contracting of 160 players into expanded 32-man squads as promise of a sensational 2011 Investec Super Rugby season for New Zealand fans.

“The introduction of the franchise contracting model has seen some exciting movements, and some promising new blood coming into the mix. Coaches and franchises have worked cooperatively – and competitively – to build strong squads for 2011.

“This year sees 40 players picked for the first time into a Super Rugby squad and 12 existing players moving to new franchises. The squads also see some young talent coming through with seven of this year’s IRB Junior World Champion Under 20s team, being selected into squads.

“Next year will be an exciting year in New Zealand rugby, and it’s fantastic that our rugby calendar kicks off with this world-class premier rugby competition. I’m looking forward to seeing these teams in action next year,” Sorensen said.

In 2011 the Investec Super Rugby competition expands to 15 teams with the arrival of new Australian franchise the Melbourne Rebels. It also sees a revamped competition format with a new three-Conference system within each of the three SANZAR nations. This will see more local derbies with all New Zealand teams playing home and away games against each other. New Zealand teams will also play four of the five teams from each of the other country Conferences.

Crusaders: Nicholas Barrett, Matt Berquist, Tyler Bleyendaal, Dan Carter, Wyatt Crockett, Ryan Crotty, Israel Dagg, Andy Ellis, Corey Flynn, Kahn Fotuali’I, Ben Franks, Owen Franks, Robbie Fruean, Zac Guildford, David Hall, Willi Heinz, Chris Jack, Quentin MacDonald, Sean Maitland, Tom Marshall, Richie McCaw, Andrew Olorenshaw, Jonathan Poff, Kieran Read, Luke Romano, Brad Thorn, Matt Todd, Joe Wheeler, Adam Whitelock, George Whitelock, Sam Whitelock, Sonny Bill Williams.

Chiefs, Blues, Highlanders & Hurricanes squads available there :

No comments: