Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Kirk, Lochore, Hobbs and Lomu honoured at IRB awards

Former All Blacks captain David Kirk, 1987 World Cup winning coach Sir Brian Lochore, former captain and NZRU chairman Jock Hobbs, former All Blacks wing Jonah Lomu and former referee Keith Lawrence have been honoured at the International Rugby Board (IRB) awards tonight.

David Kirk and Sir Brian Lochore were inducted as every winning coach and captain of every edition from 1987 to 2007 were admitted into the Hall – with John Eales, the 1999-winning captain, inducted into the IRB Hall of Fame in 2007.

Hobbs and Robinson received awards for distinguished service to rugby.

Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service – Jock Hobbs

Jock Hobbs was elected Chairman of the NZRU in 2002 and served with distinction, overseeing considerable success on and off the pitch while also securing New Zealand the right to host Rugby World Cup 2011.

In December 2010 Hobbs stepped down from his position as Chairman of both the New Zealand Rugby Union (NZRU) and Rugby New Zealand (RNZ) 2011 Limited due to ill health but continues to be an inspirational presence in the country.

IRB Referee Award for Distinguished Service in association with Emirates Airline – Keith Lawrence

Keith Lawrence refereed 14 international matches between 1985 and 1991 and went on to become an outstanding rugby administrator in the match official sphere. Lawrence worked as a Referee Manager both within his native New Zealand and for the International Rugby Board as Sevens Referee Manager, a role from which he retired earlier this year.

IRB Hall of Fame inductees – Dr Roger Vanderfield, Richard Littlejohn, Sir Nicholas Shehadie, John Kendall-Carpenter, David Kirk, Sir Brian Lochore, Nick Farr-Jones, Bob Dwyer, Francois Pienaar, Kitch Christie, Rod Macqueen, Martin Johnson CBE, Sir Clive Woodward OBE, John Smit, Jake White, Gareth Rees, Agustín Pichot, Brian Lima and Jonah Lomu.

No comments: