Thursday, February 09, 2012

Crusaders and Hurricanes named for Mangatainoka

World Cup winning All Blacks Owen Franks, Sam Whitelock and Israel Dagg (Crusaders) as well as Cory Jane and Victor Vito (Hurricanes) will start for the Crusaders in Saturday's Super Rugby trial against the Hurricanes in Mangatainoka.

It will be the third straight year the Hurricanes have played a pre-season match in Mangatainoka, and the fixture is a sellout with 8,000 tickets quickly snapped up.

The Hurricanes this week welcomed back captain Conrad Smith to the fold, and are still to integrate Samoan international Tusi Pusi, who will join up with the franchise once his stint with Suntory is over.

Smith has not been named in the match day squad.

Vito and Jane are in the run on side, while Jack Lam starts at openside flanker after the news that Karl Lowe will be facing another spell on the sidelines.

Crusaders coach Todd Blackadder has rolled out Franks, Whitelock and Dagg onto his run on team, while a fearsome bench awaits with fellow-World Cup winners Corey Flynn, Ben Franks, Kieran Read and Andy Ellis on a 13-man replacements list.

All four Whitelock brothers will start for the Crusaders for the first time, while it will be a homecoming for the family as they grew up on a farm not far from where the match is being played.

Hurricanes: Cory Jane, Richard Buckman, Alapati Leiua, Charlie Ngatai, Julian Savea, Beauden Barrett, Chris Smylie, Victor Vito, Jack Lam, Faifili Levave, Jason Eaton, Mark Reddish, Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, Dane Coles, Tristan Moran. Reserves: David Hall, Ben May, Reggie Goodes, Michael Bent, Motu Matu'u, James Broadhurst, Jeremy Thrush, Scott Fuglistaller, Mike Coman, TJ Perenara, Chris Eaton, Daniel Kirkpatrick, Jayden Hayward, Andre Taylor

Crusaders: Tom Marshall, Patrick Osborne, Robbie Fruean, Adam Whitelock, Israel Dagg, Tom Taylor, Willi Heinz; Luke Whitelock, Matt Todd, George Whitelock, Sam Whitelock, Ross Kennedy, Owen Franks, Quentin MacDonald, Wyatt Crockett. Reserves: Corey Flynn, Ben Franks, Tom Donnelly, Luke Romano, Joe Wheeler, Brendon O'Connor, Kieran Read, Ben Funnell, Andy Ellis, Tyler Bleyeendal, Sean Maitland, Mitchell Scott, James Schrader.

No comments: