Monday, February 06, 2012

New Zealand confirmed as top seeds for Las Vegas

HSBC World Sevens Series leaders and winners of the Hertz Wellington Sevens New Zealand will head to the United States and Sin City as the top seeds.

The International Rugby Board released the pool draw for next weekend's leg, and the Series leaders and defending champions will play in the ‘pool of death’ against Samoa, Australia and Japan.

The win in Wellington was New Zealand’s second leg win of the 2011/2012 series, and gives them 73 points, three clear of Fiji. England is third on 64 points while South Africa is fourth on 61.

Kicking on off February 10, South Africa will begin the tournament as last year’s winners, with Samoa winning it the year previously which was the first time the tournament had been moved to Sam Boyd Stadium in Whitney, Nevada.

Previously the USA Sevens was held in San Diego (2007-2009) and Carson (2004-2006).

New Zealand last won the American leg in 2008, and has won it twice, equal with Argentina.

Fiji reached their second Cup final of the Series in Wellington and, as runners-up, head Pool B and face matches against Canada, Argentina and tournament hosts the United States. France, South Africa, Wales and Uruguay make up Pool C, while England, Scotland, Kenya and Brazil are in Pool D.

2012 Las Vegas pools:

Pool A: New Zealand, Samoa, Australia, Japan
Pool B: Fiji, Canada, Argentina, United States
Pool C: France, South Africa, Wales, Uruguay
Pool D: Kenya, England, Scotland, Brazil

No comments: